Materia Medica

 

 

While creating my Materia Medica, I was having a hard time deciding on which herb to start with. I decided that I would write a list and try to narrow it down. That was not going to work as I still couldn’t decide. Then I decided that I would let the herb chose me. This was the best decision I could make because it allowed me to relax concerning this project.

I went to a local organic farm, Blue Moon Acres in Pennington, NJ to pick up some of their wonderful organic, local, arsenic free rice and while browsing saw a bunch of organic Turmeric (Curcuma longa). I knew immediately that my Materia Medica was underway.

Herbalism is fluid, I have had an intense interest in herbology for about seventeen years. I’ve studied and used herbal products and always have had herb gardens. I always wanted more though and when the chance came to attend a free Materia Medica course offered by The Herbal Academy of New England I immediately signed up.  Attending this course was like throwing open a door that had only been partially cracked open, one I had been trying to get through for years. I had a subscription to The Herbarium and used it, but until the course, with no instruction, it was a passion with no direction.

While my handwritten Materia Medica is an ongoing project and fills many notebooks and online reference sites, I decided to blog about it as a reference for myself, and as a way of encouraging budding herbalists. An online journal of herbal experiences and hands-on projects.

Leave a Reply

